BOOK THIS OFFER NOW!




Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Date

Please, write this letters: captcha

Zaostrog is small attractive mediterranean village on Makarska, 35 km away from Makarska, with beautiful beaches, rich historical and cultural heritage and in vicinity of many attractive excursion destinations.

Franciscan monastery is the biggest and most important cultural monument in this region. The monastery is founded in the 14th century. It was established by monks of the order of “hermits of St. Augustine”, called Augustinians, who abandoned the monastery after the fall of Bosnia on 1463 and retreated to the islands.Franciscans from the Province of “Silver Bosnia” settled in the abandoned monastery in 1468 and remained there until today. One of the most important cultural monuments that in the monastery of that time is a stone inscription written in the Croatian language and special script “Bosančica” from 1589, located above the main entrance to the church. At that time, the monastery at Zaostrog was an internationally famous pilgrimage site that was included in a list of Marian sites throughout the world.

The monastery also had an important role in education. For more than 500 years, a school for education of future priests was located in it. The monastery possesses a rich library with around 20.000 books and an archival department.

Among the many famous names of Croatian culture and history who lived and worked in the Monastery at Zaostrog was father Andrija Kašić Miošić, the Croatian poet, writer and philosopher, and Father Ivan Despot, another Croatian writer and poet. The monastery also contains a painting gallery featuring one of the most famous living Croatian painters Mladen Veža, as well as the ethnology collection of rustic furniture and tools, together with various examples of Croatian folk attire. The collection is registered as a cultural monument under state protection. The monastery garden has been turned into a botanic garden containing more than 250 plants, particularly featuring: seven types of mimosa, five types of
palms and maples, four types of eucalyptus, a Chinese jujube tree, Chinese currants etc.

One part of the monastery is used in touristic purpose and dispose with following accommodation units:

  • 7 single rooms,
  • 9 double rooms,
  • 6 triple rooms,
  • 1 quadruple room.
  • Capacity : 47 beds (recommended for groups, especially in low season)

Monastery facilities:

  • Rooms don’t have en suite bathroom facilities.
  • There are 3 wc/shower facilities.
  • Completelly
  • equiped kitchen for guests use,
  • Living room,
  • Library,
  • Dinning
  • room,
  • Outdoor restaurant

Additional information:

  • Gracious priests and another staff are taking care of guests.
  • Food served in monastery’s restaurant is mostly from its own garden (eco grown food)
  • Breakfast : 08:00 h
  • Lunch 12:30 h
  • Dinner: 19 h (at 20:00 pm during the summer)
  • Mass is being held every day at 18 h or 19 h during July and August, Sundays at 10 h in the morning and 19 h in the evening.